My Canvas: Kvadrat




Mon-Tue and Sat-Sun: 11am - 6pm, Wed-Fri: 11am - 8pm

Free Event


Design Frontiers

With contributions from 19 designers and artistic talents from around the globe, the Kvadrat exhibition 'My Canvas' payed homage to a Kvadrat staple: the vibrant and elegant upholstery textile Canvas 2, created and colour set this year by renowned Italian colorist Giulio Ridolfo

In an open brief, Kvadrat have invited 19 emerging designers to create their interpretations of Canvas 2, informed by contemporary design. The exhibition is titled 'My Canvas', lending itself to the individual creative viewpoint revealed in each piece. Be it the beauty and intricacy of the yarn, the colour palette, the structural properties or architectural expression of the textile, the contributions invite the viewer on a journey of tactile discovery.

Designers selected for 'My Canvas' include Zeitguised (Germany), BCXSY (The Netherlands), Maria Jeglinska (Poland), Felipe Ribon (France), Christien Meindertsma (The Netherlands), Judith Seng (Germany), YOY Idea (Japan), Moritz Schmid (Switzerland), Cheng-Tsung Feng (Taiwan), Max Lipsey (The Netherlands), GamFratesi (Denmark), Mimi Jung (USA), Chen Williams (USA), Jonathan Muecke (USA), Teruhiro Yanagihara (Japan), Kate Chung Design (China), Clemens Lauer and Max Guderian (Germany) and Butternutten AG (Germany).

Curators included Constance Rubini, Hans Maier-Aichen, Jeffrey Bernett, Njusja de Gier and Yves Marbrier.


Kvadrat was established in Denmark in 1968 and has deep roots in Scandinavia’s world-famous design tradition. Kvadrat holds the leading position in Europe’s high-quality contemporary textiles market and supply architects, designers and private consumers across the world with textiles and textile-related products.
Kvadrat products reflect a commitment to colour, quality, simplicity and innovation, consistently pushing the aesthetic, technological and functional properties of textiles. In doing so, we collaborate with leading designers, architects and artists; among others Miriam Bäckström, Raf Simons, Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, Thomas Demand, Olafur Eliasson, Alfredo Häberli, Akira Minagawa, Peter Saville, Roman Signer, as well as Doshi Levien and Patricia Urquiola.