Get In Touch

The London Design Medals

Each year, London Design Festival recognises the contribution made by leading design figures and emerging talents to London and the industry, with four London Design Medals awarded. The 2019 Medals were awarded at the House of Commons, Westminster, supported by long-standing partner, British Land. The 2019 Winners are:

  • The London Design Medal, supported by British Airways London City: Tom Dixon OBE

  • The Design Innovation Medal, supported by SAP: Daniel Charny

  • The Emerging Design Medal, supported by Storey: Ross Atkin

  • The Lifetime Achievement Medal, supported by Fortnum & Mason: Dame Vivienne Westwood

A panel of established designers, industry commentators and previous winners meet to debate the possible recipients of the Medals. The Jury consists of: 

Ozwald Boateng, Sheridan Coakley, Njusja de Gier, Es Devlin, Sarah Douglas, Ben Evans, Chris Grigg, Tristram Hunt, Domenic Lippa, Jay Osgerby, Raoul Shah, Justine Simons, Sir John Sorrell, Paul Thompson and Jane Withers.

London Design Medals

There are four Medals awarded each year. The categories are:

  • London Design Medal is the highest accolade bestowed upon an individual who has distinguished themselves within the industry and demonstrated consistent design excellence.

  • Design Innovation Medal celebrates entrepreneurship in all its forms, both locally and internationally. It honours an individual for whom design lies at the core of their development and success.

  • Emerging Design Medal recognises an impact made on the design scene within five or so years of graduation.

  • Lifetime Achievement Medal honours a significant and fundamental contribution to the design industry over the course of a career.